Conferences
The thing I want to talk about is writing conferences/fairs/festivals. Whatever they are called are beneficial.  I think most of us have been to at least one, if not more. I have met fellow writers, and people who don’t think I am too weird for what I do.

You never know what little insights you will pick up, or who you will meet. If you can afford to go to one I think it is really worth it. I love when I go to a Christian conference as these people understand where I am coming from. As my books all have a Christian theme or values some non-Christians won’t always understand them.

I had a plan to go to the local arts festival (most capital city have one). But then I decided to get see my parents on the other side of the country so didn’t have the spare money to listen to a writer’s workshop. I will be going to another writing workshop when I visit my parents. Not sure if the subject is exactly what I want, but I might get a few contacts.

Contacts who might give you a job (paying even), or at least give you encouragement. I have met a guy Nathan and it was nice to know I could contact him about the conference I am going to. I wasn’t too sure if the topic would be beneficial for me as a fiction writer. He then wrote to the presenter and the topics have changed slightly. (Telling your own true story)

No matter how long you have been a writer, or how many books you have published, there is always something to learn. Even if you just meet other writers. (Last time I met someone who lived in the same suburb as me). Writing is generally a solitary job, and I love being able to talk about writing and not have a person’s eyes glaze over. I can get a little obsessed with my writing and characters

If you have the chance to go I would encourage you. I also would like to know what you get out of it? Why do you go to writing conferences? I am sure people can think of more reasons that I can today.




Leave a Reply.